Cook's Tales, Vegan, Vegan Ingredients

It’s that time of year again ..what to grow?

It’s about now, the beginning of February,  that I have to own up to myself that I have an addiction.  To seeds.   

The days are getting  just a little bit longer, and all I can think about is getting the chillies going, and then the tomatoes….because they need a head start…in the UK anyway…..and then the cabbage seeds need sowing …aubergines…then what…something else… what was it? ….. and this is just the beginning…it will be mayhem all too soon….

Then the next dilemma becomes ….what else to grow this year?  Certain things go without saying: chillies, tomatoes, garlic, onions, squash, salad…. the fruit does its own thing….but what else….something new..?  something different? …. So now it’s time to pore over the seed catalogues, while simultaneously attempting to exercise a little restraint.  Now that’s hard.  Really hard.

Even though I’ve already got a lot of seeds…. just probably not all the ones I could do with… hey ho …

it’s that time of year again…

The truth is, I think I would’ve found it more difficult to become vegan if I wasn’t growing vegetables.  The first two summers we grew stuff we just stopped eating meat.  We didn’t even think about it.  Dairy and eggs were a little harder, but then the ethical side kicked in big time.  And…I shall never go back again.  I couldn’t.

So I have a lot to thank my allotment for, and what better way to do that than to give it a blog post.  All to itself.

And a toast.  To my strawberry patch. Sante!

strawberry prosecco-midsummer’s day at the allotment

(Wikipedia: “An allotment garden (British English), often called simply an allotment, or a community garden (North America) is a plot of land made available for individual, non-commercial gardening or growing food plants. Such plots are formed by subdividing a piece of land into a few or up to several hundreds of land parcels that are assigned to individuals or families. Such parcels are cultivated individually, contrary to other community garden types where the entire area is tended collectively by a group of people. In countries that do not use the term allotment (garden), a community garden can refer to individual small garden plots as well as to a single, large piece of land gardened collectively by a group of people. The term victory garden is also still sometimes used, especially when a community garden dates back to World War II or I.”)

§

Here is the actual owner of my allotment, in my absence anyway. In fact, in my presence too.   Not my cat, but last summer he came to visit every time I was there. And he’s delightful.  Just one of my allotment mates….others include various blackbirds, greenfinches, robins, moles, foxes….and then there’s the old chap on one of the neighbouring plots… Brian.  He’s my vegetable growing guru.

We’re still a long way a way from providing ourselves with veggies all year round.  Allotments take time and effort and we do have other commitments.  But it’s a way I’m growing to love, because it is a fabulous lifestyle. I can’t deny it.

I know I’m lucky, but, even with a busy life, it’s always possible to grow something…like herbs on the window sill, tomatoes on the patio, or fruit bushes in big pots.

 Thyme, Oregano, Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Lemon Balm, Mint, Chives, Lavender…..

Blueberries, Strawberries, Rhubarb, Gooseberries, Raspberries, Apples, Pears, Redcurrants, Blackcurrants….

…and as for the veg. well, the list is endless…

On a serious note, being vegan is quite a responsibility both to the planet, and of course to your own health…but what it doesn’t mean, is that you have to deprive yourself, ever… quite the opposite actually…a fact that many people seem to doubt…sadly….

For me, growing veg. simply gives me a sense of abundance anyway….and if that wasn’t enough, the allotment is just such a pleasurable place to be.     When we go, we take a picnic. Oh yes.

Even when there’s work to do. Ha.

allotments10
onions out …new onions in

So…. Welcome to a bit of my world.  I hope you like it.

§

Peace

.

“The eating of meat extinguishes the seed of great compassion.”~
The Buddha
Mahaparinirvana Sutra

.

Grow vegetables.

.

.

Leave a Reply

