Salads, Vegan

Blueberry Salad

My blueberry bushes are giving forth right now, so I thought I’d try some in a salad.

They’re lovely.

Everything else I used was green 🙂  because I liked the colour contrasts 🙂

Blueberries have a soft and mellow flavour, so I also went looking for other ingredients that would complement rather than overpower them….

Hope you like !

§

BLUEBERRY SALAD

I’ll leave the exact quantities up to you… just major on the blueberries  🙂

Ingredients:

  • Blueberries
  • Small, ripe but crunchy pear/s
  • Sugar Snap peas
  • Kiwi Fruit
  • Cucumber
  • Endive Leaves – or other salad leaves
  • Pumpkin seeds

Method:

  • Wash blueberries.
  • Wash, core and cube the pear.
  • De-string sugar snap peas.  Wash and chop.
  • Peel and slice kiwi fruit.
  • Wash and dice cucumber.
  • Wash the salad leaves and slice into ribbons.
  • Lightly toast pumpkin seeds in a dry skillet for 2-3 mins.
  • Mix everything green together, and then scatter the blueberries and the pumpkin seeds.

 

Use a dressing of your choice…. I stayed with the green theme and made a lime juice / olive oil dressing seasoned lightly with salt and pepper…. 🙂

Simple.

§

 

§

Peace

.

.

.

 

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Salad”

  1. Oh man you grow blueberries? Jealous! This sounds like such a creative salad. What a neat combination of fruit and greens. I always shy away from this sort of dish, but it looks so nice that I just might give it a go. Can’t go wrong with blueberries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

