Vegan, Vegan Cheese, Vegan Snacks

Cashew and Tofu Cream Cheese

The vegan cheese thing is a thing.  It’s a big thing.  And there are many amazing artisan vegan cooks out there striving to make vegan cheese like cheese.    And I have huge respect for all of them!

I even came across a recipe for blue vegan cheese the other day …. it looked fabulous!

I missed cheese for a long, long time when I became vegan. I didn’t feel so bad when I read some of those articles about how cheese is highly addictive.  I just thought, OK, I have an addiction I need to kick.   It’s taking a while I have to say 🙂  And it’s still not done ! 😉

In the meantime, I’ve attempted various recipes I’ve come across, but sadly without much success, although I was inspired by many of the ideas.

I did once make a delicious Vegan Brie ….but can I find the recipe again?  Absolutely not 💚

If I could afford it, I’m sure I would be regularly buying artisan vegan cheeses from some of those amazing on-line suppliers.  Because so far, most store-bought vegan cheeses are mainly, truly, deeply mediocre.

Slowly, over time, I’ve forgotten about cheese. However, if there’s one thing that revives my desire to try again, it’s home-grown tomatoes.  There’s nothing quite so delicious as homegrown tomatoes.  And because I’ve got some, with more ripening as I write .. I suddenly want cheese….I want pizza…. I want feta salad… and all that kind of stuff… 💕💕

So in honour of my home-grown tomatoes, I’ve started by concocting this fairly simple recipe for a tofu and cashew cream cheese, which is light, creamy…and seems to hit the spot.  One of them anyway 🙂   It’s definitely inspired by Miyoko Schinner, but I’ve left out the thickeners, changed some of the ingredients, and gently baked it instead.

It works for me! 💚  That’s all I can say!

I’ve made three individual cheeses, and coated them with three different coatings: black pepper, paprika and herb.  The coatings make a wonderful difference, and if you can bear to leave the cheeses in the fridge for a day or two before sampling, the flavours really start to seep into the cheese.  And they’re good !

Hope you enjoy!

§

TOFU AND CASHEW CREAM CHEESE

makes 3 individual ramekins approx. 8 cm. diameter

Ingredients:

  •  100gms. cashews
  • 100 ml. water
  • 200gms. firm plain tofu
  • 3 tsps. sweet white rice miso
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • a small piece of garlic clove ( about half a small clove)
  • 3 tbs. nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • A dash of olive oil (to grease the ramekins)

Method:

  • Soak cashews for 2 -4 hours in 100ml. water.
  • Blend cashews with soaking water in a high speed blender until silky smooth.
  • Place blended cashews in a saucepan, and bring to a gentle boil.  Keep stirring to avoid burning.  Reduce heat if necessary.  Cook for 2 -3 mins. until the mix has thickened considerably.
  • Return cashew mix to the blender with all the remaining ingredients, and blend until smooth.
  • Lightly grease 3 ceramic oven-proof ramekins (about 8cm. in diameter), and pour the cashew mix into the ramekins, so that it is equally distributed.
  • Bake the cheeses in a pre-heated oven Gas Mk. 3 / 160C  (or slightly lower if you have a fan-assisted oven), for approx. 20-25 mins.
  • Remove the cheeses from the oven and allow to cool completely.  The surface of the cheeses will have a few little cracks … nothing to worry about ….
  • Refrigerate for around 4 hours.
  • Remove from the fridge, and slide a knife gently around the edge of the cheese.
  • Turn the cheeses upside-down on to plates.

Coatings:

Black pepper and Coriander:

Grind together approx. 2 tsps. black peppercorns, 2 tsps. coriander seeds and a pinch of salt, until fine.

Paprika with a pinch of chilli:

Blend 2 tsps. paprika with a good pinch of chilli and a pinch of salt.

Herb:

2 tbs. dried mixed herbs, such as basil, parsley, chive, fennel.  Grind the herbs until medium fine.

  • Coat each cheese individually, by rolling the cheeses in individual coatings.
  • Return coated cheeses to the fridge until ready to serve.

Enjoy 🍃

… with crackers… tomatoes… olives ….salad … as you fancy….

….watch them disappear….

Going ….going….gone  … ☘

…technically, these cheeses will store in the fridge for a week or so … ha….

§

§

Peace

.

La Pace

.

Bon Appetit!

.

.

more to come

💚

.

.

3 thoughts on “Cashew and Tofu Cream Cheese”

Leave a Reply

